, ,

So, I blogged here a while ago about the order in which to watch the various installments of the Marvel Cinematic Universe. It was a simpler time. The Infinity Saga was maybe only half formed.
But still, there was enough to take a good chunk of time to catch up on. Now, with Disney+ recently launched, this might be the best time to revisit this list.
Now, the sheer size of the MCU is even more intimidating. And that is a statement that will seem naive in a couple years.
Anyway, without further delay here is my updated suggested order:

  • Captain America: The First Avenger
  • Agent Carter Seasons 1 & 2
  • Iron Man
  • The Incredible Hulk
  • Iron Man 2
  • Marvel One Shot: A Funny Thing Happened On The Way to Thor’s Hammer (on Captain America: The First Avenger BluRay/DVD)
  • Thor
  • Marvel One Shot: The Consultant (on Thor BluRay/DVD)
  • The Avengers
  • Marvel One Shot: Item 47 (on The Avengers BluRay/DVD)
  • Iron Man 3
  • Marvel One Shot: Agent Carter (on Iron Man 3 BluRay/DVD)
  • Agents of SHIELD Season 1 Episodes 1-7
  • Thor: The Dark World
  • Marvel One Shot: All Hail The King (on Thor:The Dark World BluRay/DVD)
  • Agents of SHIELD Season 1 Episodes 8-16
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier
  • Agents of SHIELD Season 1 Episodes 17-22
  • Guardians of the Galaxy
  • Agents of SHIELD Season 2 Episodes 1-19
  • The Avengers: Age of Ultron
  • Agents of SHIELD Season 2 Episodes 20-22
  • Ant-Man
  • Captain America: Civil War
  • Spider-Man: Homecoming
  • Guardians of the Galaxy: Vol 2
  • Doctor Strange
  • Thor: Ragnarok
  • Black Panther
  • Avengers: Infinity War
  • Ant-man and the Wasp
  • Captain Marvel
  • Avengers: Endgame
  • Spider-Man: Far From Home

The Netflix Shows operate pretty separately, and don’t tie in closely to the MCU films. They all take place after Avengers, with the later series (Jessica Jones Season 2, Defenders, etc) taking place after Avengers Age of Ultron. However, apart from that they can basically be watched in their order of release.

  • Daredevil Season 1
  • Daredevil Season 2
  • Jessica Jones Season 1
  • Luke Cage Season 1
  • Iron Fist Season 2
  • Defenders
  • The Punisher Season 1
  • Jessica Jones Season 2
  • Luke Cage Season 2
  • Iron Fist Season 2
  • Daredevil Season 3
  • Jessica Jones Season 3
  • The Punisher Season 2

Similarly later seasons of Agents of SHIELD stop tying in quite so closely to the MCU and can be watched in whatever order relative to the rest of the MCU. The same can be said for marvel’s Runaways and the Cloak & Dagger series. Both are quite good, but don’t tie closely in to the MCU happenings. Though, they are intended to be in the same world. Inhumans should be skipped altogether.